Report: Dutra Apologizes For “Mistake” in DQ Loss to Kunimoto, But Believes Latter “Exaggerated” Effects
By FCF Staff
Luiz Dutra Jr. didn’t appear to believe he hit Kiichi Kunimoto with illegal elbows at UFC Fight Night 34 on Saturday, but the fighter has now conceded he made a mistake.
Dutra Jr. was disqualified at UFC Singapore in the first round, after he hit Kunimoto to the back of the head with several hard elbows, as the welterweight looked for a takedown. Kunimoto could not continue as a result of the blows and the fight was called.
In a follow up interview with MMA Junkie.com, Dutra Jr. was quoted saying:
“I was in a rush to end the fight soon and prove that I belong in the UFC,” Dutra Jr. noted about his Octagon debut. “I felt he was weakening, so I continued throwing elbows. I ended up making a mistake in the heat of the moment. It’s not acceptable to me that someone who’s experienced and has been fighting for so many years should make this type of error. I always try to fight clean, within the rules. Making this type of error bothered me a lot.”
Although Dutra Jr. has admitted to the error, he proceeded to argue that Kunimoto “exaggerated” the effects of the elbows, “because I was making things hard for him.”
The Brazilian did add that the “fault was mine”, however, and that he deserved to be disqualified whether Kunimoto was seriously stunned or not.
The defeat ended Dutra Jr.’s (11-3-1) four fight winning streak, while Kunimoto (16-5-2) has now won five straight bouts.