Full Contact Fighter Database







Saturday, Oct 13, 2012

TUF 16: Igor Araujo Scores Decision Win Over Nic Herron-Webb

The TUF 16 cast (photo via UFC)

By FCF Staff

Team Carwin extended its lead over Team Nelson to 3-1 in the latest episode of “The Ultimate Fighter” Friday, as Igor Araujo earned a majority decision win over Nic Herron-Webb. The victory was Team Carwin’s second in a row.

The TUF 16 competition, which is being coached by veteran heavyweights Shane Carwin and Roy Nelson, features welterweight fighters.

Here is what Araujo and Herron-Webb had to say about their bout in a press release from the promotion.

Araujo said: “I felt really happy because I won my fight on my son’s birthday. It was really strange fighting in the TUF gym, with Dana White watching, I felt so much pressure. I should have finished Nic, but I didn’t and I didn’t get the $5,000 bonus because of it. I respect Nic, he is a nice guy, he is young and a tough fighter, but in this situation being away from my family was my biggest opponent at that time.”

Herron-Webb , nicknamed “NAP-Time” as much for his fondness for snoozing as for his hard-hitting fighting style, said: “I was pretty disappointed after my fight. I felt like I got robbed of the chance to go to a third round. I wish I would have been more aggressive and fought harder. After my fight it felt like the team moral dropped because all of the guys on my team thought it was my fight to win and take back control for our team, so it sucked.”

Here are the TUF 16 results to date.

Team Carwin (3-1)
Sam Alvey (0-1, lost to Joey Rivera by decision in episode 3)
Bristol Marunde (1-1, defeated Julian Lane by unanimous decision in episode 4)
Mike Ricci
Neil Magny (1-0, defeated Cameron Diffley by decision in episode 2)
James Chaney
Eddy Ellis
Igor Araujo (1-0, defeated Nic Herron-Webb by majority decision in episode 5)
Matt Secor

Team Nelson (1-3)
Dom Waters
Michael Hill
Cameron Diffley (0-1, lost to Neil Magny by decision in episode 2)
Colton Smith
Jon Manley
Nic Herron-Webb (0-1, lost to Igor Araujo by majority decision in episode 5)
Joey Rivera (1-0, defeated Sam Alvey by decision in episode 3)

Julian Lane (0-1, lost to Bristol Marunde by decision in episode 4)

posted by FCF Staff @ 3:23 pm
Have a comment about this story? Please share with us by filling out the fields below.

Comments are closed.