Full Contact Fighter Database







Thursday, Mar 22, 2012

“Glory” Confirms New Ownership Structure, Schilt, Kharitonov and Coenen Amongst Latest Signings

Kharitonov after knocking out Andrei Arlovski (photo courtesy Esther Lin / Showtime)

By FCF Staff

Just days before it will hold its latest event on March 23rd in Moscow, Glory World Series has announced that the European promotion has undergone a new ownership structure. In addition, Glory has confirmed that it has signed or retained several notable kickboxers and MMA fighters, including Semmy Schilt, Sergey Kharitonov, Jerome Banner, Mark Miller, Ghokan Saki, Jerome LeBanner, Peter Aerts, Yoshihiro Sato, Brice Guidon and former Strikeforce champ Marloes Coenen.

The agreements with Schilt, Kharitonov, Saki and Errol Zimmerman are exclusive contracts, which according to the Glory press release, should end “several disputes between the fighters and former K-1-promoter FEG about outstanding payments and discussions about acquiring the K-1 brand.”

The announcement includes news that the Holland based company Golden Glory has partnered with sports marketing agency Total Sports Asia, which will ensure that Glory World Series events will be broadcast in over 80 countries. Specific details as to what the new ownership structure entails were not provided.

Glory will reportedly promote at least six cards annually, which will continue to be a mixture of MMA and kickboxing action.

Friday’s Glory World Series event will be available via online pay-per-view for $15 starting at 11AM EST.

Here is the complete line-up for the card.

01 – MMA -65kg Cesario di Domenico Italy vs Murad Machayev Russia

02 – MMA -76kg Anatoly Safronov Ukraine vs Gasan Umalatov Russia

03 – MMA -95kg Ilir Latifi Sweden vs Denis Bogdanov Ukraine

04 – MMA HW Ricco Rodriquez USA vs Ruslan Magomedov Russia

05 – KB -73,9 kg Nieky Holzken Holland vs David Kiria Georgia

06 – KB -72,5 kg Maxim Vyrovski Estonia vs Dzhabar Askerov Russia

07 – KB HW Jamal Ben Sadik Morroco vs Vitaly Oparin Ukraine

08 – KB HW Ali Cenic Turkey vs Sergey Maslobojev Lithuania

09 – KB -98kg Igor Jurkovic Croatia vs Zabit Samedov Bellarus

10 – KB HW Brice Guidon France vs Semmy Schilt Holland

11 – KB HW Mark Miller USA vs Sergey Kharitonov Russia

12 – KB HW Jerome le Banner France vs Errol Zimmerman Surinam


posted by FCF Staff @ 12:58 pm
Have a comment about this story? Please share with us by filling out the fields below.

Comments are closed.