Full Contact Fighter Database







Wednesday, Feb 16, 2011

Aggression MMA Announces Competitors for LW Tourney

By FCF Staff
Edmonton based promotion, Aggression MMA, has announced that its upcoming March 11th event will feature the opening round of a lightweight tourney, with the semi-finals and finals to take place at future cards. Confirmed competitors for the tournament include Shane “Shaolin” Campbell, Tim Jenson, Ryan Machan, Estavan Payan, Mitch Clarke, Trevor Wright, Brad Cardinal, and Kurt Southern.
The March 11th event will be hosted by Edmonton’s Shaw Conference Center, and will feature noted Canadian welterweight Ryan Ford in the main event. No opponent has been announced.
“This tournament is set to help Aggression MMA really explode on the Canadian fight scene,” stated promotion co-owner Harvey Panesar in the official announcement. “The talent featured in the tourney is second to none, and we can’t wait to see who comes out on top!”
Here is the outline of the tourney competitors that was included in the official press release:
Shane “Shaolin” Campbell (4-0) holds an undefeated record in MMA, and is considered one of the most decorated Muay Thai practitioners competing in the sport today. “Shaolin” was the 2009 WMA World Muay Thai Champion, as well as the 2007 WKA World Muay Thai Champion. All told, Campbell has competed in over fifty Muay Thai fights.
Estevan Payan (9-3) holds a pro MMA record of 9-3, and is a two-time Bellator veteran. A member of the well-respected Arizona Combat Sports fight team, Payan has trained with former WEC Lightweight Champion Jamie Varner in the past, and is known for showcasing his skills in crowd-pleasing fights.
 Ryan Machan (12-6) returns to the 155-pound division after trying his hand at welterweight. Machan is a formerly nationally-ranked lightweight who holds notable victories over currently ranked competitors Kajan Johnson, Gavin Neil, and fellow tourney participant Brad Cardinal.
 Mitch Clarke (8-0) is currently the number ten-ranked lightweight in Canada and was the last lightweight champion of The Fight Club. The undefeated Clarke is hoping to win the Aggression title and prove that he belongs higher in the national rankings.
Tim Jenson (6-1) has been on the sidelines since 2007, working to improve his game, and has chosen Aggression as his new home to display his evolving skill set. Working under world-renowned trainer David Lea of Toshido Fighting Arts in Kelowna, Jenson is set to make his mark on the Canadian fight scene. He’s is a former Rage in the Cage champion, and holds notable victories over Ben Greer and the highly regarded Jordan Mein.
 Trevor Wright (5-3) started his career with a bang, but has hit a tough streak recently. He is now looking to rebound under the guidance of Kent Brown. Hoping to prove to Canadian MMA fans that he is a legit contender, Wright will look to take flight at the Aggression MMA lightweight tourney.
Brad Cardinal (11-5) is currently the number six-ranked lightweight in Canada, and holds notable wins over Myles Merola, Musa Toliver, Thierry Quennville, and fellow tourney participants Trevor Wright and Kurt Southern. Cardinal is riding a seven-fight win streak heading into the tournament.
Kurt Southern (7-3) is a tough fighter looking to utilize the tournament as a springboard to regain his national ranking. He holds notable wins over Mukai Maromo and Martin Grandmont.

posted by Full Contact Fighter @ 1:29 pm
Have a comment about this story? Please share with us by filling out the fields below.

Comments are closed.