Full Contact Fighter Database







Sunday, May 18, 2014

Bellator 120: “Rampage” Jackson Ekes Out Win, “King Mo” Lawal Blasts Bjorn Rebney After Fight

"Rampage" Jackson (photo via Bellator.com)

Brooks Upsets Chandler, Ortiz Chokes Out Shlemenko

By FCF Staff

“Rampage” Jackson secured a title shot tonight at Bellator 120, but the former UFC champ’s victory over “King Mo” Lawal didn’t come without some controversy and post-fight fireworks.

Although Jackson managed to batter and bruise Lawal with several telling shots throughout the bout, the latter controlled much of the action in rounds one and three.

After Jackson was awarded a unanimous decision win, a visibly upset Lawal accused Bellator CEO Bjorn Rebney of favouring “Rampage” in his post fight interview. Not only that, but Lawal told Rebney to “cut” him if he doesn’t “like” the ex-Strikeforce champ.

Jackson also conceded he wasn’t happy with his performance, and asked Rebney to book a rematch between him and Lawal.

The card’s co-headliner was also tightly contested, as Will Brooks upset Michael Chandler via split decision to win the interim lightweight title.

Brooks dominated round three by a wide margin, and controlled round four, but Chandler appeared to get the better of the rising fighter in rounds one, two and five.

The card also featured the return of former UFC star Tito Ortiz, who choked out middleweight champ Alexander Shlemenko with a first round, arm-triangle-choke.

Here are the results from Bellator 120, which went down in Southaven, Mississippi.

Light-Heavyweight Tourney Final

“Rampage” Jackson def. “King Mo” Lawal via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Interim Lightweight Championship

Will Brooks def. Michael Chandler via split decision (48-47, 47-48, 48-47)

Tito Ortiz def. Alexander Shlemenko via technical submission (arm-triangle-choke) R1, 2:27

Heavyweight Tourney Final

Alexander Volkov def. Blagoi Ivanov via submission (rear-naked choke) R2, 1:08

Michael Page def. Ricky Rainey via KO (punch) R1, 4:29

Cheick Kongo def. Eric Smith via TKO (strikes) R2, 4:35

Marcin Held def. Nate Jolly via submission (armbar) R1, 4:20

Fabricio Guerreiro def. Shahbulat Shamhalaev via submission (kimura) R1, 3:29

Goiti Yamauchi def. Mike Richman via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Austin Lyons def. Zach Underwood via unanimous technical decision (30-27, 29-28, 30-27)

Mike Wessel def. Justin Frazier via TKO (punches) R1, 4:28

Ben Brewer def. Andy Uhrich via KO (strikes) R2, 2:40

Codie Shuffield def. Anthony Lemon via submission (rear-naked choke) R2, 2:15

Brian Hall def. Cortez Phelia via TKO (punches) R3, 0:24


posted by FCF Staff @ 1:27 am
Have a comment about this story? Please share with us by filling out the fields below.

Comments are closed.