Full Contact Fighter Database







Sunday, Oct 30, 2011

Diaz Retires Penn, Secures Bout With GSP; “Cro Cop” Calls it Quits


By FCF Staff 

The highly decorated BJ Penn gave Nick Diaz pause for thought in the opening round of tonight’s UFC 137 main event, but in the end, the former Strikeforce champ battered Penn with strikes en route to a unanimous decision win.

In the headliner’s first round, Penn was able to land a few strikes and briefly take the back of his opponent, but Diaz came back storming in round two and began to punish the legendary fighter with punches to the body and head.

While Penn valiantly fought on in the third, it was apparent that the legendary fighter had little left, and after Diaz was announced the victor Penn announced that “this is probably the last time you’re going to see me in here.”

In Diaz’s post fight interview, the outspoken fighter stated that he believed champion Georges St. Pierre was faking the injury, which had postponed his scheduled bout with Carlos Condit. According to multiple reports, the UFC has since announced that a St. Pierre, Diaz bout is once again in the works for early 2012, likely Super Bowl weekend, and that Condit will face a new opponent.

Although it remains to be seen if Penn will indeed call it quits on his storied career, another legend in Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic also announced tonight that his fighting days were over. Despite having former TUF winner Roy Nelson in trouble earlier in the bout, Cro Cop was unable to finish the deal, and the heavyweight came back to stop Filipovic with a series of punches early in round three.

Here are the official results for UFC 137, which was hosted by the Mandalay Bay Events in Las Vegas.

Nick Diaz def. B.J. Penn via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-27, 29-28)
Cheick Kongo def. Matt Mitrione via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-28, 29-28)
Roy Nelson def. Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic via TKO (strikes) – R3, 1:30
Scott Jorgensen def. Jeff Curran via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Hatsu Hioki def. George Roop via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Donald Cerrone def. Dennis Siver via submission (rear-naked choke) – R1, 2:22
Bart Palaszewski def. Tyson Griffin via knockout (punches) – R1, 2:45
Brandon Vera def. Eliot Marshall via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Ramsey Nijem def. Danny Downes via unanimous decision (30-25, 30-26, 30-27)
Francis Carmont def. Chris Camozzi via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)
Clifford Starks def. Dustin Jacoby via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

posted by FCF Staff @ 2:14 am
Have a comment about this story? Please share with us by filling out the fields below.

Comments are closed.