Full Contact Fighter Database







Saturday, May 05, 2012

MFC 33: Nathan Coy Crowned Welterweight Champ

Coy receiving the welterweight belt (photo courtesy MFC)

By FCF Staff

Strikeforce veteran Nathan Coy is the Maximum Fighting Championship’s new welterweight champion, as the veteran scored a stoppage win over  former “Ultimate Fighter” competitor Ryan McGillivray at the promotion’s latest event  last.

Coy (11-4) extended his win streak to three and secured the vacant belt, after McGillivray was not allowed by the ringside doctor to continue into the fourth round.

With the loss, McGillivray’s record now stands at 12-6.

Here are the official results from last night’s MFC 33 card, which was hosted by Edmonton, Alberta’s Mayfield Conference Centre

MFC Welterweight Championship
Nathan Coy defeats Ryan McGillivray due to doctor stoppage R3 5:00

Mukai Maromo defeated Adam Lynn via split decision
Luke Harris defeats Edwin Dewees via guillotine choke R1 2:05
Jamie Toney defeats Andrew Buckland via unanimous decision
Diego Bautista and Sabah Fadai declared No-Contest (illegal knee from Fadai R 1 1:00)
Derek Parker and Jared McComb declared a draw
Matt Jelly defeats Garrett Nybakken via armbar at R1 2:01
Josh Kitchen defeats Mike Scarcello via triangle choke at R1 2:27

posted by FCF Staff @ 10:51 am
Have a comment about this story? Please share with us by filling out the fields below.

Comments are closed.